Secrets, Owltrees, & Mages

Before I go into post of textwall, I’d like to thank some people.  Firstly, there’s the whole reason we even had a little romp around the blogosphere — Dristanel of The Physician’s Log.  She thought up this whole thing and gave it a whirl.  Amazing job!  Secondly, there’s Gypsy of Mischief, Magic, & Rocket Science for admiring me!  I really enjoyed the Romeo adaptation; I was ever so tickled by it. :)

My stalkee, on the other hand, was a hoot. I laughed for a solid minute upon reading my Secret Admirer assignment email.  I’ve been following Lissanna at Restokin ever since I began to adventure as a treeb (that’s tree n00b), and just a week ago, I joined her guild after TSR exploded.

I am horribly bad at being subtle, and even worse at being concise.  I also fail at spellcheck and kept facepalming that I misspelled Lissanna on my first note.

I’m a Latin nerd, so I figured I’d go with Catullus for my inspiration for love poetry.  Of course, I forgot that most of his love poems are sex poems and the other love poems are really love/hate poems, but I still had fun in the end.

Lissanna guessed it was me on the first go due to my notorious writing length.  But hey, I tried.  That was one of the short Catullus poems!  Well, I mean, yeah, Catullus 2b is really short, but that would have be so terribly awkward…

HEY YOU! Don’t you want to learn some Latin?!  Oh I know you do.  Have some Latin…

“Fel For You” adapts Catullus 5

Vivamus, mea Lissana, atque amemus,
All those rumors of those stern old raiders,
Let us value them at mere EP!
Daily quests are finished and reoffered, but
Us, with our soulbound love, can be finished only once.
That lunar eclipse which procs is one forever lagful buff.
Give me a thousand souls, then a hundred.
Then, another thousand, and a second hundred.
Then, yet another thousand, and a hundred.
Then, when the meter has tallied the many thousands,
Shake the abyssal bag, so that no raid may know the number,
And become jealous when they see
How many shards we have shared.

Catullus would forgive me for this libel if ever he /focus’d such downy elegance as you.

CATULLUS 5 | Famously known from its first line, “Vivamus, mea Lesbia, atque amemus,” or “Let us live, my Lesbia, and love.”  Lesbia is code-name for Catullus’s lover; scholars say she was Clodia (Claudia) Metelli.  Supposedly there were rumors of Catullus having an affair with a senator’s wife, hence the urging of the poem to forget rumors of old men and just love each other.  The poem is also somewhat famous for its metaphorical imagery of a sun setting into forever night, like eternal love through life & death.

MY NOTE | Yeah, at 13 lines, it’s a short Catullus poem.  Well…although Lissanna guessed it based on length, it’s still rather obvious it’s me.  I mean, the other obvious Latin-lover is a dwarf priest & this is clearly a warlock’s work.  I tried to incorporate the sun rising & setting with daily quests & rollover.  And then the obvious raiding references.

“Enchanted by You” adapts Catullus 13

You will have [Fish Feast]s at my house, Lissanna,
In a few resets, please the RNG Boss,
if you bring with you [Musselback Sculpin] and plenty of [Nettlefish],
not forgetting such soft amber [Tree of Life] form,
and [Nourish] and [Swiftmend] and all [Rejuvenation].
If, I /say, you bring all this, my [Lifebloom]ing friend,
you will have [Fish Feast]s; for the backpack
of your Secret Admirer is full of [Iceweb Spider Silk].
But OTOH you will have from me love’s very soulstone,
of what is greener or more purple than love, if pinker there be,
for I will give you some ["Enchantress" Perfume] which
the Eonars & Peddlefeets gave to my avatar
and when you receive its buff, you will pray to the RNG Boss
to make you, Lissanna, nothing but a /focus.

May the [Celestial Focus] make generous haste to bring us into the same party together, so that I may be touched healingly by your everlasting [Tranquility]. :)

CATULLUS 13 | My favorite.  It’s also rather playful, errrr, more so than most of the other love poems.  Catullus is actually inviting his friend, Fabullus, to dinner, and it’s to his lady or Lesbia to whom the perfume was given by the gods, but I adapted it a bit.  Catullus lists off things you need for a party — a pretty girl, wine, wit, and lots of loud laughter — but he can’t provide these things, because he doesn’t have money to spend (purse of cobwebs).  But he can give you this amazing perfume!  It’s the thought that counts, right?

MY NOTE | While professing my warlocky admiration on the first go, I forgot to mention all Lissanna’s wonderful attributes.  I particularly have been reading restokin for the tree info, so I chose to mention all the wonderful healy things.  Since this poem asks the friend to bring things, I figured I would use the in-game bracket notation, but I didn’t want to actually link things in case the comment got spammed.  Although the purse is actually full of cobwebs in the poem, I’m a tailor, so I do actually have a ton of Iceweb Spider Silk.  My warlock is also an enchanter, so the “Enchantress” Perfume was excellent being a spellpower buff & a reference to my other profession.  Also slight hint of Eonar, my warlock’s former realm.

“Your Love is an Unstable Affliction” adapts Catullus 11

Creepy?  How would a warlock love otherwise?  Oh, but the silly dwarf does not understand our Soul Link!

Pwneria and Aspida, who will be my fellow-travellers,
whether I make my way even to distant Theramore,
where the shore is beaten by the far-resounding
eastern wave,

or to Gilneas and soft Dalaran,
or to the Arathorians and seadogs of Kul Tiras,
or those orchards which the hidden Elwynn Falls
dye with their floods,

or whether I will tramp through Valley of the Heroes,
to visit the memorials of great Turalyon,
the Hushed Bank or the formidable Lordaerons,
remotest of men…

I wish you would join me in Stormwind in the Magic Quarter for a picnic lunch.  Should you not wish the commotion of wanton staring your presence will definitely incur, you can leave a note with the bartender, Jarel Moor.

CATULLUS 11 | I was torn whether I should go with the Sappho imitation or the sparrow poem (y’know, those other famous Catullus love poems), but I finally settled on this, remembering I should be hinting my identity, not just having fun with things.  I adapted the first half of the poem; the second half is an expression of love/hate & the breakup.  The part that I adapted?  It’s more or less just imagery of how far Catullus travels and the wonderful places he goes.  Ooooo old ancient epic stuff.

MY NOTE | Well, the first part before the poem is a reply to a comment below my 2nd note.  Yeah, it’s possibly creepy if you didn’t know this was a blogging event, but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity for another warlock pun, y’know.  Anyway, the two friends Catullus refers to in the poem are Marcus Furius Bibaculus (a poet who wrote about eveyday experiences in the Forum) and Marcus Aurelius Cotta Maximus Messalinus (a senator and consul in the 1st century).  Yep, Roman names are a mouthful.  Go geneaology!  So naturally I picked a bank alt name for Furius and my pally for Aurelius, an upstanding member of the community who’s slacked off & stuck at level 20.  Then, as a final clue that I’m a human warlock, not a belf one, I proceeded to switch out the names of the places with some of the seven human kingdoms and lore.  In order, by Catullus/WoW: India/Theramore, Hyrcania/Gilneas, Arabia/Dalaran, Sacae/Arathorians, Parthia/Kul Tiras, Nile/Elwynn Falls, Alps/Valley of the Heroes, Julius Caesar/Turalyon, Gaulish Rhine/Hushed Bank, and Britons/Lordaerons.  I tried to match it up some, but with my little knowledge of human lore and really, WoW lore in general, it was mostly fudged.  Finally, Jarel Moor is the bartender in The Slaughtered Lamb, in the basement of which are the warlock trainers for Stormwind.

Well…I had tons of fun with this whole commenting thing, anyway. :)

3 responses

  1. Thanks & welcome to Conspiracy!

    15 Feb 2010 at 19:43

  2. It was a pleasure stalking you, Poneria!

    15 Feb 2010 at 20:21

  3. Pingback: 1 Year…ish… « Fel Concentration

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,175 other followers