Around Azeroth, Feb 21-27

Honestly, I think a lot of blog posts are fascinating, so maybe weekly.  Like the one at the Blog Azeroth forums!  Except much longer.  Because you should know by now that I’m excessively verbose.

Because I know some of you probably don’t read the whole thing / TL;DR: roleplaying things, warlock things, fun things, philosophy things, and a really touching (at least for me) goodbye post by Pike.

Roleplaying Things

I roleplayed on a medieval fantasy forum back around 8th, 9th grade ish.  The forums more or less died to inactivity, but I had fun stretching my writing skills.  Looking back on it, I was entirely too flowery, and, well, you know, I write a LOT when I write.  My sentences were UBERMASSIVELY LONG.  With lots of commas.  Hopefully I’m better now. At least with the long sentences deal.

While my guild was dying and after I’m now somewhat removed from it (I swear, I’ll always be a Robe at heart), I kept thinking a lot about Poneria as a character and her life with the Robes versus my, Meg’s, life with the Robes. I recently realized those times I reinstalled Windows I essentially erased all my screenshots from my early Robe days.  Equivalent to falling asleep and accidentally setting your house on fire and realizing all your only photo albums of past days are now completely GONE.

So I got my writing urge back.  Except I don’t terribly know how to real-time roleplay. I’ve done roleplay by forum boards, and I’ve written Star Trek fanfiction.  Oh, you won’t find that stuff, I think fanfiction.net deleted my inactive stuff a long time ago.  I hope, anyway. It’s still there.   If you like reading dumb fantasies of a fifteen-year-old.  That stuff makes me…wow, just wow.  It’s laughable to me, anyway.  But yeah, that’s what my writing was kind of like back then.

I want to roleplay a priest.  I don’t know why.  For one, I’m atheist, so I don’t really know how I would roleplay the religious aspect or if the Light is even supposed to be religious (as opposed to merely spiritual).  I’ve been told I’m highly spiritual despite being atheist, but I think it would be a bit of a challenge anyway.  For two, I’m enjoying my disc priest.  Maybe make this one holy?  Maybe.  Or another disc.  For three, I started one, and I was having trouble being devoted to healing and helping people and creatures, while also slaughtering Infected Moonstalker Runts for the heck of it.  Help?

Granted, I realize I probably shouldn’t roleplay every single quest, and yeah, there was no one around me because it was about 3am, but, I was trying to get into my character’s head, and my character’s head was uncomfortable (I think?) with the concept of killing animals just because.

Warlock Things

As Fuguralis points out, Nibuca is the Queen of Affliction. So I would update Raider101.com, but I’m not Queen.  Maybe a Lady (Lord?) of Affliction.  Though Conspiracy thinks I’m knowledge-worthy.  Which scares me.  I mean, I’ve been playing affliction since I started WoW, much like I’ve been speaking English since I was speaking, but … I’m not an English professor.  Though I do have a bit of an obsession with conlangs.  So I know what the terminology mostly means and mostly how it works, but I’m not degree-confident on the subject.

But Fuguralis, until I can find another Demo lock online, is the King of Demonology so far that I can see. I may need to go try this out, especially with 3.3.3 bringing some uber goodness to the Demo tree.  I also need to acquire more warlock blogs.  Most of my warlocking knowledge comes from self-experience and reading patch notes.  I need to mingle more with my demonic bretheren, I guess.

Fun Things

Jaedia’s Scavenger Hunt reminds me of an event I did in TSR.  I did heroic racing, where you get two groups of 5 and some heroic dungeons and you see who finishes first.  And we had rewards by guild members like flasks and frozen orbs and fish feasts.  Sadly, it only happened once, because the very next DAY Patch 3.3 dropped, and everybody went scattering to go through the random dungeons.  But I’m sad I didn’t continue doing it.  Maybe I’ll pop back on an alt & ask some Robes to do it.

The Elder Blogging Event…yeah, you’ll see that post later.  Hopefully this weekend.  Maybe.  I have to go screenshotting since my aforementioned screenshot folder is diminished due to many OS reinstalls.

Life in Group 5’s post: Point three happens a lot.  I want point fourPoint six…I’ve scheduled leaving for break around raids.  Point seven, WoW is usually one of the first topics, if not links.  All I’m going to say about point eight is this would be the only way I would ever play that one ninja tag game you play in public where you have to hit somebody with a spoon or whatever.  I can’t think of the name.  Point eleven…I think I got it covered.

Philosophy? Well, thinking about the way you play the game…

I think this is another post. Half of the links I saved I liked because it made me think about some aspect of the game in the “why?” region of thinking.  Plus, it gives more chance for Righteous Orbs to come back up.  It keeps coming up with some php-looking errors whenever I try to access it outside a feed reader.

17 links, I counted.  Om nom thinkage? You can wait till the weekend (it is the weekend? Shut up).  Nobody posts on the weekend it seems.

I never knew Pike, but she gets her own category of linkage.

I feel like I’m still a newb in the WoW blogosphere, so I don’t exactly know all these bloggers putting down the pen/keyboard.  But I love the last part of the goodbye post (is it really goodbye?).  Especially the answer “I’m never alone.”  I think it made me tear up a bit (yeah, it did!) mostly because of my last logging onto Poneria on Eonar, just before I left TSR on her.  I couldn’t really type out /gquit.  It took me a few tries.  “Oh no, I have more stuff to put in the bank.”  (P.S. I hope you guys saved those 40some Frozos I gave you!  Sell/Use them later!)  But that line–“I’m never alone” plus the owl coming along–just kind of hit it home that while I don’t have the guild tag <The Scarlet Robes> over my warlock’s head, I have Bheezem the felpuppy, I have Robes on Facebook and still yet on Eonar, I have Conspiracy and I feel like I’m settling in more there, and I have my hordie guys on Ursin.  So being unalone isn’t confined to a guild tag.

Possibly that’s all inelegant bullshit but it means something to me in my core.

One response

  1. Oh don’t feel bad about being new. When I first entered the blogosphere, it was just as Big Red Kitty and Phaelia were leaving… and I felt sad that I hadn’t really known much about them until it was too late. There’s always someone wonderful, be it Pike, Phaelia, or BRK that are stepping down and moving on – unless we’d all been here from the beginning there’s always going to be someone we’ll “just miss”.

    27 Feb 2010 at 03:36

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,177 other followers