Around Azeroth: 28 Feb – 6 Mar

Y’know all those philosophy posts I never got around to…  Well, I just kept thinking.  And I might have lost the list of them… <.< >.>  But this past week has provoked some thoughts.  So I will continue in my uber-length fashion as always…

I’m concentrating on a few warlockery things, because I want to try out some demonology a little.  So my bookmark bar (yeah, I put up currently reading pages up there) has some intro to demo articles on it.  We’ll see how it goes later.  I’m also trying to lurk more on the warlock section of EJ and lurking on the WoW Warlock forums.  Not that you can really tell if I lurk more, but I need to read them some more.

<Single Abstract Noun> has been going around the blogosphere a little. I decided to be obvious and roll a human warlock named Poneria on Argent Dawn-US to join up with my States-side bloggin’ brethern. Of course, it’s not exclusive to bloggers, anyone is allowed in, but there’s a ton of bloggers already there. I log on sometimes to hit level 5 things but mostly to percolate.

Seriously, I’ll be out of ideas to blog, I’ll log onto AD, and then *poof* ideas, they come.  If I’m AFK on AD, you can always whisper me or Twitter me, and the sound of either of those will get my attention.

The Elder Blogging Event has concluded, and you can check out Khi’s list of Elders to read them all.  The event got linked on WoW.com, which was awesome. :)  My top five in no particular order (there’s 17, go read them all!):

  • Psynister linking his own posts and various other blogs as gifts.  Clever…
  • Cynwise gives some zen advice for newbie PvPers.  I need this for my baby priest (she’s 40! halfway there!) because I’m a firecracker when confronted with dying and/or stupidity.
  • Zahia’s Grid guide.  Though I prefer TBJ, any addon guide that’s thorough is good in my book.
  • Ophelie’s tips for PuGging dungeons.  Bonus tip: if you are the last to leave group, sometimes the teleport in/out option isn’t there anymore and you have to hearth.  Sometimes it is, but half the time, it isn’t.  Maybe sometimes I actually beat out the other person to leaving?  Bonus bonus tip: if you leave the instance via the door portal, it pops you back where you were as if you had used the teleport option. :)
  • Gazimoff’s mage roleplaying.  That post and reading up on WoW lore makes me want to take a day and just go over warlock-specific lore.  That post and reading Too Many Annas makes me want to learn to & actually RP some day on a WoW server.

Good news, everyone! Conspiracy downed Putricide 25.  The 10man I was in this week also managed to down two-heal one-shot Putricide, and got a couple of tries in on Dreamwalker after we killed Blood Queen.  Wootah!

Nibuca did a State of the UII’ve been wanting to do one myself, but I’m moving it around, playing with it, plus I still get crap every once in a while for still WASDing.  I tried mouse-moving once, and …I move the camera too much normally, so I kept autorunning in The Bad.  =/

If you want to prettify your DBM bars, check this out.  Personally, the big red or orange bars stick out in my face, so I’m afraid that prettifying them will lead me to not pay attention as often.  But I like this post because it gives you an inside look of the addon folder if you’ve ever wondered how you can mix & match with not just whole addons but addon parts as well.

I’m still getting into the flow of raiding with Conspiracy.  Putricide is oodles of fun now, I think, even when we wipe, I feel like I’m having fun.  It’s even in the <35% DPS like your life depends on it because your life does, in fact, depend on it.  Dreamwalker is more frustrating than I’d want, and I feel like I never really got to struggle much on things like Deathwhisper, Saurfang, or Rotface.  Y’know, the bosses I heard so much about, then read up on so many times, only to go with Conspiracy and one-shot them all?  Yeah…I get excited when I get to kite on Saurfang.

That hot topic about blogging about your guild I like being honest.  For one, it’s less stressful than to keep up what you should and should not know.  For two, I don’t get into icky situations about being passive aggressive or two-faced.  For three, you can be as honest back to me, so it forces me to grow a thick skin and a spine at the same time.  In fact, one of my first posts concerned guildmates and a situation that made me uneasy.  However, I never told them I had a blog until I left, and I don’t think any of them read it.

Now that I’m in Conspiracy, well…they know I have one, Lissanna told them when I applied.  At first I thought it was okay because it would explain my novel length of an application.  But now..I don’t know.  I’m still a probie, so I’m still nervous half the time that I’m going to mess up whether being stupid about my class or not knowing an encounter or not being prepared or standing in The Bad or not doing enough dps for my gear or being unable to keep that @%#$ing Kinetic Bomb up that’s across the room from me but still on *my* side…lots of worrying, but trying to remain calm and constructive and willing to get better when I do actually mess up.

By the way…Flow is a domain now.  Update your RSS feed, too, so you’re not like me wondering why the hell Flow is double-posting every day. <.< >.>

Honestly, no matter the class, I like looking at other people’s UIs.  Probably because sometimes it sparks an idea I never thought of, or maybe I’ve been looking for an addon to do this one thing and there it is, or maybe I have this one addon, but here’s a better one, etc.  I love addons and UIs.

Miss Medicina’s big healing post that sparked some debate.  I want to write my opinion about logiccrafting healing, but I feel like my opinion would be very weak and one-sided, since I’ve only ever played a tree (my shammy is still 52 or something), and I’ve only ever really raid-healed in bulk.  I’ve tank-healed a few times, but I was normally chosen by HPS not by spec or anything, so I don’t feel justified as an authority on tank healing anyway.  Heck, I don’t really feel justified as an authority on warlocks, even though I’ve been playing one since I started WoW.

Matticus’s cross-training post reminded me of the Robes.  This is honestly how we operated — we took whoever signed up for the raid, so long as we had a good ratio of tanks, healers, and dps, and went with it.  Like Pocahontas, I never stepped in the same raid twice.  It’s the thing most different and difficult about Conspiracy to me, honestly. Being able to get over hitting CoE when I’m DPSing next to Lissanna, since I’m so used to provided that debuff.  Being able to not freak out about having only 339 hit rating because there’s always a draenei (I’m 3 +hit short, I know) and most often a boomkin or a spriest (could get away with 289!) in my raiding group.

The fresh perspectives part particularly speaks to me.  Story time?  Story time.  Onyxia 10, pug raid.  They didn’t really explain the fight before just pulling it.  Apparently I was SUCH A N00B for going in the wrong corner during phase 3 and thus being feared into the whelps.

There are 4 “corners” to pick from (6 if you want to count the groups that did it in the entrance or in the back where P1 usually happens, or ∞ if you want to count the groups that did it wherever she landed), and I swear every PuG Onyxia raid picked a different one.  It’s another reason I’m nervous in Conspiracy: I’ve watched the Tankspot videos, yeah, but I have no clue how you guys particularly do it.  So I’m going to pretend I haven’t seen it anyway so you can explain it to me.  Plus, it’s a refresher from what I read, right?

Don’t forget to visit the Blog Azeroth forums and see more Around Azeroth links from other bloggers!

Around Azeroth: 28 Feb – 6 Mar

Leave a Reply

