Hasty Tasting

So I’ve had the chance to test out the new glyphs which let haste affect a spell or two.  One of them I like, and one of them, ehhh, not so much.

Wicked Corruption

Originally, I wasn’t sure about the warlock glyph, Quick Decay.  I got it as fast as I could grab one and went straight to the dummy to test it out.  And, well, Corruption kept falling OFF.  Mainly because it only lasted for about 15s, and even then, it felt like it only lasted for about 12s.  Normally, I refresh my Haunt as it dies, and every once in a while I miss it for like a second because I wanted to cast a Shadow Bolt instead.  So I would start casting by 3s left on Corruption and I’d normally be fine.  But Haunt would hit and Corruption would fall OFF.

WTF Warlock Troubled Face.

And I read somewhere later that it had to do with how the whole buff interface showing 3s are left when REALLY it’s something like 2.3s.  >.>  /annoyed  But it was okay, just start casting 1s earlier.  Except that wasn’t okay, because I barely had time to cast Shadow Bolt.  Maybe one got in before I had to refresh everything.

Then they fixed it so Shadow Bolt refreshes the duration, in addition to Drain Life, Haunt, and Drain Soul.  First, I was worried, because I thought resetting the duration  my Shadow Bolt means Corruption will never tick.  That I’d have to do some weird Shadow Bolt stopcasting dance around my Corruption ticks.  Then I read about the difference between the duration and ticking.  The ticks work off when the server registers whether there should be one.  The duration is just the, well, the BUFF, the state that allows the ticks to happen.  The refreshing doesn’t stop the tick tock ticking, it just lets the server know that the buff is still there, that ticks still need to be ticking.

And it works.  I’ve watched my target debuffs sit there and bounce through Corruption being reset–15s, 14, 13, 12, 15, 14, 15, 14, 13, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 15, etc.–and then I look at Recount, and Corruption is still a big chunk of my damage as it’s always been.

I like this glyph.  This is a keeper.

Quicksilver Rejuvenation

As a healer, I tend to stack more haste than I do on my warlock.  Neither of them, though, is anywhere close to “ridiculously fast” aka 1s GCD.  For Affliction, the only thing it really does is let me squeeze in one more Shadow Bolt, and now, more DPS via faster Corruption.  But squeezing in Shadow Bolts, it’s a discrete thing.  You can’t squeeze in half a Shadow Bolt casttime: it’s one or nil.  On the other hand of the haste v. crit deal, Pandemic is amazing, and so is crit.

My druid doesn’t have 7 bazillion haste on her, either.  I don’t really know why, maybe because I don’t do progression 10mans or 25mans, so I’m not under pressure and against odds to squeeze out more heals per second.  Since I transitioned from DoTs to HoTs when learning how to heal, and my affliction heart cried when they took away two DoTs from my rotation…I don’t find it too hard to keep track of 7 bazillion HoTs everywhere.  Vuhdo helps, certainly, but it’s not too difficult to keep a whole raid going of rejuvs and a few lifeblooms and some regrowths and a WG off cooldown.  I’m okay with rolling HoTs and letting them tick in rhythm with casttimes.

For my druid, I end up balanced.  I don’t really know which one is “better.”  I’ve read various resto druid blogs discussing it, and then I think…they’re all top raiders.  What do I do?  I do 5 mans for the most part, and a 10man every week or so.  The 10mans I do often aren’t the hardest I could be doing for my gear.  I’ve yet to see half of Ulduar, really, even though my gear says I could do ToC10 easily.  I’m not pressured to perform well for a raiding spot.  “Robes-style” means we take whoever wants to go, gear loosely permitting.

In the 10mans it depends on whether it’s a guild group or not.  I raid heal more often than not: in pugs, it’s my default assignment; in guild runs, if one of our holy priests is healing with me, I might actually get to tank heal.  In 5mans, I’m the only healer.  Duh.  Well what’s the dynamic of 5mans?  Especially now with the random LFG?  With the people in ICC gear pulling 5k dps on roic trash who like to do dungeons in under 15min so they can move on to the next and vacuum up the badgers?

It’s frakkin’ fast in 5mans. You have the sit down, buff up, drink some water in the beginning, but after that it’s go go go.  I’ve often rezzed someone with my brez just because it was faster and spammed my group buff while running.   Then you have the tanks who like to pull the next group while people are still looting, so they might start the next mob pack out of range of my heals. Or ranged dps who manage to spread out everywhere on Scourgelord Tyrannus.  Or melee who forget that the spinny weapon thing in Pit of Saron does damage.   In 5mans, I count on the fact that I have heals ticking when I can’t cast due to running or range or quick huge incoming party damage.  I don’t need to spam Nourish standing still unless people really push it.  I count on my HoTs ticking on the tank while he continues to run out of range.  Wild Growth often sees chained cooldowns because the glyphed version is enough to cover a party and a pet, so it’s a fast-casting, quick-acting AoE heal.  Tranquility even gets pumped every once in a while.

The hasted rejuv makes my HoTs fall off faster.  I found myself casting my heals more, but I didn’t need to.  I overhealed way more, and it was just wasting mana.  I kept having to Innervate myself.  In FIVE MANS.  Granted, in 5mans due to ridiculous pull rates, but I hardly Innerv myself.  I usually save it for the priests and shammies, and if I do use my own Innerv, I only do so when I get that “Not enough mana” error message and I’ve already potted.  Which usually only happens if I’m in a raid that’s challenging for my gear and/or I had to brez somebody.  Maybe it’s different in the 25mans and progression 10mans.  But my 2k Rejuv ticks were doing fine without haste, and my mana pool liked it more.

Those resto bloggers are right: I’m a 5man’r, a casual 10man’r.  Tenths of a second aren’t going to terribly matter to me.  This glyph ain’t for me, so I traded it back for my WG+1 splash.

Hasty Tasting

Leave a Reply

